Write about your strongest memory of heart-pounding belly-twisting nervousness: what caused the adrenaline? Was it justified? How did you respond?

Ahhh, this one is easy. We were living in a nice duplex so close to the white sandy beach that we could hear the waves crashing in on the shore. I had been injured on the job and so I was home alone that afternoon when I walked from the kitchen through the living room….uh oh, wait. I was stopped right in the middle of the living room by a sight that makes my heart step up the pace just to remember it. We had tile floors due to the fact that carpets don’t fare too well this close to all of that white sand. And throw rugs were scattered here and there, Right smack in the center of one of my nice throw rugs lay an 8 foot long snake. I’m sure it only looked 8 ft. long to me who was just on the verge of hyper-ventilating. The truth of the matter is, it was probably closer to 2 feet long or less. A snake is a snake however and now my mind frantically searched for the answer to “what do I do now? I want him outside not in and no way do I want him taking off for hiding places leaving me to never sleep again for fear that he would crawl in bed with me.”

I frantically searched my brain for an answer when I turned around quickly and spotted the dust mop sitting in the laundry area. I slowly side stepped over to it and grabbed the handle. Everything was done in slow motion so as not to scare the snake. Slooowly I pushed the dust mop toward the rug prepared at any second for a slithering snake and screams from me. It touched the rug and he looked at it, then up at me. I crooned softly like singing to a baby to calm it and gently pushed. The rug had no non skid backing so it moved silently and slowly across the tile toward the front door. I couldn’t believe that he still laid there quietly looking around as if he were enjoying the ride. My heart in my throat, I knew the hardest part was still ahead when I had to stop and open the door. We had no screen door so that was a plus, but I just knew when I opened the door to the hot outside he was going to be off that rug in a flash and hiding somewhere out of sight. 

I slowly reached out for the handle to the door and still he watched me. My crooning became more of a raspy croak as my throat tightened while I opened the door very slowly. He actually turned his head and looked outside. Knowing this was my only chance before he flew back into the cool living room, I pushed with all my might and out of the door flew rug, snake and dust mop. I slammed the door shut and just shook in my bare feet for about a minute and a half before moving on rubbery legs to my recliner and plopping down in it. A huge smile broke out on my face and I began to laugh remembering how I gave a snake a ride and he seemed to enjoy it. I just don’t want to do it again, that’s all. 🙂

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

